The winners of this year’s MRS Excellence Awards were revealed at the Society’s first in-person event in over 18 months on Friday 17 September. 100 guests gathered for lunch at The Langham Hotel, London, where Patrons of MRS Paddy Barwise and Peter York announced twenty new Fellows and shared the winners of the Advanced Certificate Award, Impact 2021 Audience Award and Silver Medal. Jane Frost CBE, CEO of MRS, also presented Phyllis Macfarlane with a Gold Medal for signal service to the profession.


See the photo gallery here.


The winners

2020 Fellows:

Sue Burden
Dr Rachel Lawes
Ben Marks
Ben Page
John Pawle
Bob Qureshi

Read more about the 2020 Fellows here (page 10-11).

2021 Fellows

David Cahn
Johnny Caldwell
Rob Ellis
Richard Ellwood
James Endersby
Dr Peter Furness
Ruth France
Derek Jones
Claire Labrum
Tim Macer
Caroline Noon
Dr Mark Thorpe
Neil Wholey
Trevor Wilkinson

Read more about the 2021 Fellows here.

MRS Advanced Certificate in Market and Social Research Practice Award

Melody Forth

Read more about Melody here.

Impact 2021 Audience Award

Sope Otulana, Marie-Claude Gervais and their project team: Cynthia Ko, Amarah Khan, Lucas Rehman and Shae Eccleston for A question of privilege: When older, white, middle-class researchers are not right for the job

Watch the winning session and with the other finalists for the Award here.

Silver Medal

Samer Muthana Sarsam, Hosam Al-Samarraie, Ahmed Ibrahim Alzahrani and Bianca Wright for Sarcasm detection using machine learning algorithms in Twitter: A systematic review

Read the winning paper along with the other finalists for the Medal here.

Gold Medal

Phyllis Macfarlane

Read more about Phyllis here.

Get the latest MRS news

Our newsletters cover the latest MRS events, policy updates and research news.