MRS has today announced that 28 people have won the accolade of Research Hero. They include representatives from within the global research community, including from USA, Australia, India, Canada, Poland and the UK.

Heroes come from both client and agency side, and have been nominated because they have have given exceptional service to the sector or helped others during the pandemic and beyond. The Research Heroes programme was origianly devised to celebrate individuals who do not necessarily qualify for our normal professional recognitions, such as Fellowships.

There were nearly 50 nominations in total this year. Nominations for Research Heroes 2023 will be accepted in early Spring next year. Watch out for announcements.

MRS Main Board member Dr Parves Khan, and Hayley Ward, Director of User Research and Insight at Deliveroo were among the judges for the Research Heroes 2022.

"It was an honour to help judge this award,” said Ward. “It was not an easy task as there were so many great nominations! I was particularly proud of the contribution our industry has made in the face of huge global change (Covid and Ukraine) - along with on-going support of issues which remain important eg, LGBT. It was humbling to read all the incredible stories, and this award is so important to be able to say ‘thank you’ to those Research Heroes going above and beyond to make a positive impact."

Khan said: “It was amazing to receive so many nominations and of such high caliber - a chance again to celebrate people's dedication, passion, hard work and commitment!”

The Research Heroes 2022 are:

Shray Agarwal

Abi Allard

Shibu Pillai

Abhinab Bhanja

Bethan Blakeley

Joanna Brassett

Susan Fader

Sania Haq

Kristin Hickey

Rhys Hillan

Hannah Humpherson

Tosin Igbon

Scott Lampon

Dr Clifford Lewis

Wesley Michael

Nadia Morozova

Adam Overell

Ruth Partington

Anita Pavic

Britanny Nicols

Sia Najumi

Richard Preedy

John Sevec

Sabrina Trinquetel

Debbie Whittick

Monica Wood

Catherine Yuile

Andrew Zelin


Criteria for research heroes:

  • Work in research, insight or analytics (can include support and operations employees)
  • Have done one or more of the following:
  1. Have contributed during 2021/22 to make a difference in research, or to support colleagues and co-workers or the community in this difficult time
  2. Have given consistent service to the sector for which they cannot be recognised with a professional award such as a Fellowship
  3. Have forwarded the cause of research, or the campaigns that are most important to the sector such as quality, diversity and sustainability. 
  • Must receive 80% of approval from responding judges

Winners will:


Research Heroes judging panel:

  • Gemma Bumpsteed, Unilever
  • Jane Frost, CEO of MRS
  • Dr Parves Khan, INTO University Partnerships
  • Rachel Lawes, Lawes Consulting
  • Nick Meagher, Cooperative Group
  • Hayley Ward, Deliveroo
  • Kenny Imafidon, ClearView Research

Get the latest MRS news

Our newsletters cover the latest MRS events, policy updates and research news.