MRS’ rarest accolade will be presented for the first time since 2008 as Leventhal steps down from 25 years in his role as Chair of the influential Census and Geodemographics Group.

Since it’s inception in the 1980s, the Gold Medal has only been awarded nine times ‘to recognise a lifetime of exceptional achievement and contribution to the research profession.’ Previous recipients include Professor Sir Roger Jowell, Tony Cowling and Dr Elizabeth Nelson, who recommended Leventhal for the honour.

“Barry’s chairmanship has been instrumental to the CGG becoming the leading independent voice in the UK geodemographics and census sector,” says Nelson. “He was key in negotiating with ONS to enable MRS to develop the social grade algorithm and has personally represented the profession at consultations with ONS and government about Census data for over a quarter of a century.”

Leventhal says he is “overwhelmed and very honoured” to be receiving the MRS Gold Medal, whilst at the same time knowing he will miss his role. “I feel both sad and glad to be stepping down as CGG Chair,” he says. “I know that my successor, Emma White, will do a great job and I’m delighted that she’s taking over from me.”

The MRS Gold Medal will be presented along with the new Fellowships, Honorary Fellowships, Annual Conference Awards, IJMR Collaborative Award and Advanced Certificate Award at the Excellence Awards lunch on 9 June. Tickets are available here.


Get the latest MRS news

Our newsletters cover the latest MRS events, policy updates and research news.